i do believe in love.

by alittlelove

I believe in love now.

I think I should explain.

About 4 months ago, I decided not to believe in love..because I was done with it.  I was done with falling in love, then being crushed.  I was sick of all the divorce and break-ups.  I was done.

BUT
{then}

Remember that post I wrote about talking with Bell?
It was in that conversation that I realized not believing in love is sin.
Yes, sin.

It all started when we were talking about the Bride of Christ.
In Ephesians 5 it says:

“22Wives, submit yourselves unto your own husbands, as unto the Lord.

23For the husband is the head of the wife, even as Christ is the head of the church: and he is the saviour of the body.

24Therefore as the church is subject unto Christ, so let the wives be to their own husbands in every thing.

25Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the church, and gave himself for it;

26That he might sanctify and cleanse it with the washing of water by the word,

27That he might present it to himself a glorious church, not having spot, or wrinkle, or any such thing; but that it should be holy and without blemish.

28So ought men to love their wives as their own bodies. He that loveth his wife loveth himself.

29For no man ever yet hated his own flesh; but nourisheth and cherisheth it, even as the Lord the church:

30For we are members of his body, of his flesh, and of his bones.

31For this cause shall a man leave his father and mother, and shall be joined unto his wife, and they two shall be one flesh.

32This is a great mystery: but I speak concerning Christ and the church.

33Nevertheless let every one of you in particular so love his wife even as himself; and the wife see that she reverence her husband.”

SO, here we have this beautiful picture of what love should be like.  Look at the Church and Christ.  We could not have asked for a better example of true love.  And here I was being foolish and ignoring the whole picture.  I was simply denying that love did not exists..it was wrong of me.  Very wrong.

Women you are to be as the Church…and what is the Church doing?  It is preparing itself for the bridegroom.  PREPARING.  Women need to be preparing themselves for their husbands.  We are to make ourselves ready.  That is right, we need to be ready for the bridegroom to come at any moment(this is better understood if you study the jewish way of courtship).  And we are to reverence our husbands.  Submit to him.  Just as the Church submits to Christ.

Men are to be as Christ.  Pouring out themselves for their Bride..just as Christ has.  He is to LOVE his wife..through thick and thin..never taking a moment to release that frail hand of her’s.  Unselfishly loving his wife.

As I was talking about this with Bella..it hit me.

Love is not a man made thing..it is a Christ made thing.
I cannot just go and say I don’t believe in it, because it seriously exists..AND it is Biblical.
By saying I don’t believe in love..I was supporting an idea outside of  Scripture.
True love is right there in front of us.
Jesus wants us to love.
He wants man to be with woman{because it isn’t good for a man to be alone~genesis 2:18}.
And me saying that love doesn’t exist, was a bash at God.

I now understand that love completely exists..and it can exist without the heartbreak and tears..if we do it God’s way.
The Biblical way.
The way that He designed.
Not the twisted way that we have made up.
Most of the time we don’t even know what true love is.  We go by what people have told us.
They say you know when you meet him.
They say it’s like bells ringing in your ears.
I always envisioned it as a whisper.

Love God’s way..not man’s way.
That is my challenge to you.

Ladies..wait..seriously wait..that is what you are supposed to do.  And while you are waiting…prepare.  Don’t be caught off-guard.  Be ready for your warrior poet to come and take you on the adventure of your life.  The wait will be worth it.

And Men..pursue.  Don’t be silly.  Don’t take your time..if you really know that she is the one.  If God has really spoken to your  heart..then don’t be afraid.  Go for it.  The right way.  The true love way.  The way that God wants you to.

All this is what made me change my mind.

And to tell you the truth..

I am very glad that my mind has been changed.

I am glad that I am able to fall in love(with the right guy mind you).

very.glad.

love…

ria♥

