love and war.

by alittlelove

There has been much hype over the new movie “Fireproof“. I have not personally seen the movie yet, but I have heard many good things about it. It is only available in certain towns, so as of the moment, I am not able to watch. I rarely recommend a movie, much less one that I have not seen, I am going to recommend this movie to you though. I can not help but be moved by such a story. Click here to see the trailer.

However, there is another movie coming out that has to do with marriage. This one does not hold up the idea of staying faithful to your spouse though. The movie Nights in Rodanthe is in theater right now, maybe even in the very same theater that “Fireproof” is playing. The story line in this movie is almost completely opposite of the prior one I spoke about. This caused a thought in my head…Satan will always attack. He hates good and he loves evil. Is it a coincidence that at the very same time there are two movies playing about broken marriages? One, the marriage will be saved, the other, it will be smashed to pieces. One brings a message of hope and righteousness, the other, a story of flesh and lust. One will give hope to those with hurting marriages, and the other will be an illusion that creates ideas within the couple’s hearts. I am not married, so I’m no expert in the subject. I have, however, been around enough married couples to see how important it is that a husband and a wife stay faithful to each other, through thick and thin. Society today has turned marriage into a “one night stand”. That is not what God was thinking when He created man and woman. Marriage is a sacred bond between man and wife. People today have made it into a casual something..that works sometimes. It should not be that way. It only pains me, and I know it pains God. When you are married, you make a promise. Literally, you are chaining yourself to to the other, and saying “You will always be mine, and I am always yours.” The reason so many marriages are falling apart though, is Satan. When God is not in a marriage, then it is a hard thing to keep together. The LORD designed marriage after all.

Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the church, and gave himself for it; that he might sanctify and cleanse it with the washing of water by the Word, that he might present it to himself a glorious church, not having spot, or wrinkle, or any such thing; but that is should be holy and without blemish. So ought men to love their wives as their own bodies. He that loveth his wife loveth himself. For no man ever yet hated his own flesh; but nourisheth and cherisheth it, even as the Lord the church: For we are members of his body, of his flesh, and of his bones. For this cause shall a man leave his father and mother, and shall be joined unto his wife, and they two shall be one flesh. This is a great mystery: but I speak concerning Christ and the church. Nevertheless let everyone of you in particular so love his wife even as himself; and the wife see that she reverence her husband.
~Ephesians 5:25-33

alex

