seeking God.

by alittlelove

“For I know the thoughts that I think towards you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you. And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.”
~Jeremiah 29:11-13

These verse have become very dear to my heart. Jehovah gave them to me when I was going through a hard time. The thing I love about them most though, is the promise that is them. There is the promise that if we seek the LORD then we will find Him. We need to be doing it with all of our heart though. A few weeks ago, my daily reading had become really monotonous, and I felt like I was getting nothing out of it. So one morning, I picked up the Word of God with a new frame of mind: to seek the LORD out. Any verse that I come across that has anything to do with the LORD, I underline it. By doing this, my time with Him has become so sweet. I’m not just going through the motions, I’m really paying attention to what I’m reading now. I’d like to encourage you to read the Scriptures like you are searching for something. We should not go through the Bible just to get through it. If we do that, then we are sadly missing the whole point. The Bible is God’s love letter to us. Read it. Listen. Love.

-alex

