inside their lives:Carl

by alittlelove


This world is full of diversity. There are all kinds of different people, with different stories, and different experiences in life. Thinking about all this has given me an idea. I am going to start writing about different people I’ve met in my life that have really impacted me. So, my first person is going to be a man named Carl…

Carl is a homeless drunk that I serve in the soup kitchen twice a month. Being a servant to Carl has taught me so much about loving those who are completely broken. I know his name, but no matter how many times I tell him mine, he just can’t remember it. Carl has no home, he sleeps by the creek. He comes into the kitchen wreaking of alcohol, and is quite a loud man. Despite all the circumstances though, Carl is still alive. He still is a living breathing person, and I think I know why. It’s because Jesus wants Carl. Carl doesn’t want Jesus though. Half the time he isn’t sober enough to hear the Gospel, but he still needs to hear it no matter what. Instead of looking down on Carl, people should be helping him. He is a person just like you and I, so why is it so hard for us to relate to what a mess he is in? Before we got saved, we were the same helpless wretches that need to be washed in the blood of Christ. Jesus is the only one who can set us free. Jesus is the only one who will be able to soften Carl’s stone cold heart. Pray for Carl. His eyes need to be opened, and his heart needs to be broken.

Go ye therefore into the highways, and as many as ye shall find, bid to the marriage.”
~Matthew 22:9

-alex

